Review: The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak

A contemporary coming-of-age that is filled with gaming jargon and screams “geek”? I’d reread the heck out of this!

impossible-fortress-synopsis

You know how, in life, two series of unconnected events somehow become relevant to each other? I’d love Rekulak to explain to me how a plan to steal a magazine perfectly align with the protagonist meeting a fellow coder. The book narrated the storyline so well that just upon retrospection did I realize this.

This was a quick read for me- as all contemporaries are- and while it was very regular in setting with its boy meets girl concept, it stands out for its unique, realistic characters and for how it champions geeks- clueless, asocial and all.

One of the reasons I would recommend this to Ready Player One fans is because of how technical the book gets. While it isn’t set in a different world nor does it have elements of fantasy, The Impossible Fortress is the back end of what is RP1. It’s a story about video game developers. Moreover, being set in the 80s makes you wonder if this could be a glimpse into the Oasis (RP1 game) creator’s world.

impossible-fortress

This book totally made me want to learn coding. So much so that I’ve signed up for a couple of courses online.

Which contemporary book is on the top of your list? Any book made you pick up a new hobby?

2 thoughts on “Review: The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak

  1. Asti February 16, 2017 / 19:37

    I haven’t heard of this one, but I can always get behind the championing of geeks. I also love how it has inspired you to sign up for coding courses online! Hope you enjoy them 🙂

    Your graphics you add with your reviews are so cute, btw. I think it’s a good way to differentiate your reviews from others and give readers a quick and easy way to see your thoughts about a book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Asiya April 2, 2017 / 16:17

    Yay! I’m really glad you liked the review. I was hoping the graphics would give the review a little more to it than a regular one. And make it more fun for me to write them too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

