Three of a Kind: Cutesy

Three of a Kind is a series that lists books, shows, movies, podcasts and even music that pair well together. Each post highlights a particular theme and lists fictional worlds (and music) that revolve around the theme. Here’s something a little more mushy for a light sunday (said the lover of funny science fiction).

READ: Simon VS The Homosapien Agenda by Becky Albertalli

oreos + adorable protagonist + emails
Highlights: “White shouldn’t be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn’t even be a default.”

Simon is the most adorable character ever. I don’t think I can emphasize this enough. The book had so much of positive energy and explored Simon coming out and dealing with the different facets of being a teenager in the best way possible.

WATCH: Inside Out

emotions as characters + sweet innocent Joy + life of a 11 year old
Highlights: Train of Thought

Adorable personified, literally. This show captures the workings of the brain in the simplest way possible- through animated characters that represent emotions. It’s so basic in thought yet exploding with creativity in implementation.

Watch: The Secret life of Walter Mitty

adorable shy guy + imaginative life + goes on an adventure
Highlights: Skating in Iceland

There’s a lot of whimsy in this movie and it will make you melt. Walter Mitty is a shy love struck guy who goes on an adventure and finds love. Its innocence and the beauty in the places he visits makes me forget how unrealistic the story is

While cutesy is so not my style, I think these cute stories are worth it. What would you add to this list?

4 thoughts on “Three of a Kind: Cutesy

  1. Asti says:

    I don’t think you’d be surprised to hear cutesy isn’t quite my style either, BUT I will say I’ve been curious about Inside Out and Simon vs. the Homosapien Agenda. I even have the latter on my bookshelf waiting to be devoured. I think cutesy stuff is good in small doses. Helps you remember you have a heart (which is always good, in my case at least ;)). I’m not sure what I’d add to this list personally. Hm… maybe Corpse Bride? haha. I mean, it’s a bit disturbing with the dead and tragic at times with the predicament Victor gets himself into, but I find the whole thing to be sort of cute in an odd way. Dave watched it while he was here with me and we couldn’t help but wonder if Dave would be similar to Victor on his wedding day – fumbling with the words and losing the ring! 😝

    Like

Leave a Reply

